Di Grassi on Pole for the Montreal ePrix

Di Grassi

Lucas Di Grassi has closed the gap to seven points in the championship after securing pole position for the Montreal ePrix. 

Sebastien Buemi will start the race from 12th place after qualifying second, but a ten-place grid penalty for changing his battery sees him demoted down the order.

Stephane Sarrazin will start the race from third place after a great qualifying session from the veteran French driver.

Jaguar Racing secured the best ever qualifying result with Mitch Evans in seventh and Adam Carroll in eighth place.

Group One

The first group saw Daniel Abt, Sam Bird, Jerome D’Ambrosio, Loic Duval and Nelson Piquet Jr. Once they finished their 170kW lap it was Duval who ended the group fastest.

The lap times were two seconds slower than what the drivers achieved in practice. Duval’s teammate D’Ambrosio failed to get a 200kW lap in as he failed to make it to the line in time. The Belgium will start the race in last.

Sam Bird also failed to get a 200kW lap in as the car did not go into qualifying mode as it should have. The Brit will start

Group Two

Stephane Sarrazin, Nicolas Prost, Robin Frijns, Antonio Felix Da Costa and Jose Maria Lopez took part in the second session.

It was Sarrazin who moved to the top of the timesheets with Prost moving to P2. The track was slowly starting to improve which started to create big gaps in times between the drivers.

Group Three

The main championship protagonists were in group three as Buemi and Di Grassi were joined by Felix Rosenqvist, Mitch Evans and Jean-Eric Vergne.

Di Grassi finished the session fastest and jumped to the top of the timesheets. Buemi finished the session second fastest, as both drivers secured their places in Super Pole.

Group Four

The final group saw Adam Carroll, Tom Dillmann, Oliver Turvey, Maro Engel and Nick Heidfeld. None of the drivers managed to get into Super pole but Adam Carroll had his best qualifying in Formula E and will start in eighth place.

Super Pole

Prost was out first in Super pole. The Frenchman drove a solid lap but it was only good enough for fourth place.

Rosenqvist was the next driver out. The young Swede made a mistake on his lap and will start from fifth place.

Sarrazin had a fantastic lap and went a tenth quicker than Prost, but the lap time was not enough to secure pole.

Buemi was next out. The Swiss driver who will have a ten place grid penalty moved to provisional pole.

Di Grassi was the last driver out. The Brazilian had a stellar lap and secured three points for pole position.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content