Rosenqvist takes pole in Mexico


Felix Rosenqvist cuts Jean-Eric Vergne’s championship lead to two points after a superb lap to take pole position for the Mexican ePrix. 

Antonio Felix Da Costa surprised the Formula E paddock by sticking his Andretti in second place, and their first front row start since season one.

Last season’s pole sitter Oliver Turvey will start from third place once Alex Lynn’s ten place grid penalty has been applied.

Lynn will start the race from 13th place once, but qualified in third. Sebastien Buemi qualified fifth fastest in Super Pole but will start in fourth place.


Track evolution was key in qualifying as each group got progressively quicker as the track cleaned up. Therefore with the championship leaders going out in group two a number of big names missed out on Super Pole.

Jean-Eric Vergne will start in sixth place and will have to fight his way through the field if he wants to maintain his championship lead once the chequered flag falls. Daniel Abt will start in front of Vergne in fifth as the German missed out on Super Pole by half a tenth.

Nelson Piquet Jr is the lead Jaguar and will start in eighth place. Sam Bird qualified ninth but will start in 19th place after a ten-place grid penalty for changing his gearbox. Bird will line up alongside Lucas di Grassi on the back row of the grid after another ten-place grid penalty for the Brazilian for changing his inverter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content