With little over two weeks to go until the first race of season five, Nissan e.Dams have announced that Oliver Rowland will drive for them in their second seat.

The 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 champion was announced at Nissan’s official team launch in Tokyo, a few days after Thai driver Alexander Albon officially departed the team after months of speculation, severing a three-year contract he had signed to drive with the Japanese manufacturer in favour of a seat at Scuderia Toro Rosso in Formula One.

According to FormulaSpy.com, Rowland, who had filled in for Albon during pre-season testing at Valencia, was delighted to reveal his signing at the launch.

“The Formula E championship features some of the best drivers in the world, and it’s an honour to be selected by Nissan e.dams to represent them in season five,” explained the British driver.

“To be able to work alongside Sebastien (Buemi) is also an incredible opportunity. I’m looking forward to challenging myself against the best of the best in FE.”

Rowland is no stranger to Formula E, having previously substituted for an injured Nick Heidfeld at the 2015 Punta Del Este E-Prix, where he finished 13th driving for Mahindra. Rowland is also no stranger to Jean Paul Driot’s DAMS team, driving with them to third in the Formula 2 championship in 2017.

Nissan also announced NISMO GT Academy winner and Super GT driver Jann Mardenborough as their new simulator driver, whilst 2017 Japanese Formula 3 champion Mitsunor Takaboshi is the team’s new test and reserve driver.

“With Formula E events featuring practice, qualifying and the race all in one day, doing your homework with tools like the simulator is quite important,” elaborated Mardenborough. “I’m looking forward to helping the team in this role.”

Takaboshi, who is to demo Nissan’s Gen2 Formula E car during the annual NISMO festival in front of his home crowd, said: “To get the opportunity to drive the car on Sunday at the NISMO Festival is a tremendous honour. I can’t wait to show Japanese fans what Formula E is all about.”

Rowland’s signing completes the 22 driver grid that will lineup at the controversial Ad Diriyah E-Prix for the start of the new season on December 15th.