Hong Kong loses its place on the calendar

Hong Kong has dropped off the final 2019/20 Formula E calendar, which features 12 cities holding 14 races – a record for the electric-powered single-seater championship.

The decision to leave Hong Kong off the final calendar follows the civil unrest and protests that have gripped the city in recent months.

The new calendar, which was confirmed at the FIA’s World Motorsport Council Meeting in Cologne on Friday, no longer has the TBC slot on December 14 that clashed with the Bahrain round of the World Endurance championship.

The remaining TBC slot – on March 21 2020 – from the original 2019/20 calendar that was issued in June has been assigned to Sanya.

But the date of the race has not been moved as had previously been indicated, which means it will still clash with the Sebring round of the 2019/20 WEC.

The race in the Special Administrative Region of China will be replaced by Marrakech, which will, therefore, host a fourth FE event since the 2016/17 season after being left off the initial 2019/20 calendar.

The Moroccan city will host the race on February 29 – the day before Hong Kong’s event had been due to run.

Marrakech’s return to the calendar remained a possibility following the initial 2019/20 schedule announcement as FE favours the Moulay El Hassan street circuit as a back-up option, which it has now brought into effect.

The WMSC also officially confirmed Jakarta’s inaugural FE race will take place on June 6 2020, which results in further revisions to the schedule.

Jakarta will follow Seoul on May 3 2020, with the subsequent Berlin round shifting back from May 30 to June 21, and the New York race moving from June 20 to July 11.

Skip to content