Season 7 Formula E calendar published

The FIA’s world motorsport council unveiled a 14 race calendar for the seventh season of Formula E on Friday; the first season to officially be recognised as an FIA world championship.

The provisional calendar is comprised of twelve prospective venues, with Saudi Arabia and the season finale in London both forming double headers.

For the first time in the championship’s history, all of the season’s races will be held within the same year, 2021, running from January through to July.

The Parque O’Higgins circuit in Santiago, Chile, is set to open the season for the first time on the 16th of January, before the championship moves to the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in Mexico City on the 13th of February.

Instead of opening the season, Riyadh in Saudi Arabia will host rounds 3 and 4 on the 26th and 27th of February, meaning yet again that Saudi Arabia will host a race on a Friday.

On the 13th of March Formula E will venture to Sanya, China, for the first time since the COVID-19 outbreak originated in nearby Wuhan, after which the European season starts with Rome playing host to round 6 on the 10th of April and Paris being the venue for round 7 on the 24th of April.

Monaco returns to the calendar on the 8th of May for round 8, although it’s uncertain whether the full GP circuit or the abridged layout previously used by Formula E will be utilised.

Seoul in South Korea will finally host it’s debut race on the 23rd of May, following which there is an unconfirmed venue hosting round 10 on the 5th of June; this was rumoured to have originally been the intended slot for the Jakarta E-Prix in Indonesia, but Jakarta’s legislative council has suggested earlier this week that the race fee should be withdrawn and the race postponed to 2022, as the COVID-19 pandemic and destruction caused by flooding earlier in the year means that money is urgently needed for relief efforts.

Tempelhof airport will once again see the return of the Berlin E-Prix on the 19th of June, before the New York city E-Prix is held at Red Hook, Brooklyn on the 10th of July.

Finally, London will return to the calendar after a five-year absence to host the season ending races on the 24th and 25th of July at the ExCel exhibition centre, with a unique indoor/outdoor circuit.

The track layouts for Rome, Monaco and Seoul are currently subject to homologation by the FIA.

Skip to content