Vandoorne secures pole for the final race of the season

Stoffel Vandoorne has secured pole position for the final race of the season which is also the first pole for the Mercedes Benz Formula E team. 

Again the main championship contenders will start from the back of the grid as Maxmilian Gunther was the highest of the top six in the championship and he will start from 18th.

Sebastien Buemi secured second for Nissan and was half a tenth off a 1.15.468 set by Vandoorne. Rene Rast continued his strong form in the Audi after he qualified in third.

Nyck De Vries will start in fourth in the second Mercedes ahead of Robin Frijns in fifth. Edoardo Mortara was the slowest driver in Superpole and will start sixth.

Alex Lynn just missed out on Superpole in his Mahindra. The Brit will start in seventh. Neel Jani continued his strong run in the final doubleheader of the season as he will start in eighth.

Sergio Sette Camara finished in ninth for Dragon. The Brazilian driver has impressed over the six races he has been a part of this season as the 22-year old looks to secure a drive with the American team next season.

Lucas Di Grassi qualified tenth in the Audi ahead of Felipe Massa who will start 11th for Venturi.

Tom Blomqvist managed to qualify his Jaguar Racing car in 12th place with Oliver Turvey in 13th for NIO. Sam Bird qualified in 14th with Alexander Sims in 15th for BMW.

Jerome D’Ambrosio qualified in 16th in the second Mahindra with Daniel Abt in 17th in the second NIO car. Gunther who was the fastest driver in group 1 and will start in 18th.

Antonio Felix Da Costa will be delighted that the championship is wrapped up as he will start in 19th. Andre Lotterer will start in 20th.

Nico Muller will start in 21st in the Dragon ahead of two-time Formula E Champion Jean-Eric Vergne. who will start in 22nd.

Mitch Evans will start 23rd and yesterday’s race winner Oliver Rowland will start in 24th.

Skip to content