Wehrlein signs for Porsche

Porsche has signed former Mahindra Racing driver Pascal Wehrlein for season seven of Formula E, replacing Neel Jani in its line-up.

Wehrlein moved to Formula E in the 2018-19 season with Mahindra, scoring a pole position and a podium finish in his debut season en route to 12th in the drivers’ championship.

He stayed with Mahindra for a second season in 2019-20, but stepped down from his seat prior to the final six races of the season in Berlin.

The German driver was widely expected to join Porsche for the German manufacturer’s second season in Formula E, and the move was officially announced on Friday, just over 12 hours after the conclusion of the 2019-20 season.

Wehrlein will team up with long-time Audi/Porsche factory driver Andre Lotterer, who has been retained for a second campaign after being recruited from DS Techeetah.

Wehrlein joins Porsche after an impressive career that includes winning the 2015 DTM title with Mercedes and a two-year stint in Formula 1 with Manor and Sauber in 2016-17.

“It is a great honour for me to represent Porsche in the 2020/2021 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship,” said Wehrlein. “I have always followed the brand’s unique motorsport history.

“I have huge respect for the legendary Porsche success story. Now, to line up as a works driver for the TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team is a fantastic opportunity.

2I would like to thank everyone at Porsche for this amazing opportunity and for trusting in my skills. Now I am looking forward to getting to know the team and starting work in Weissach as quickly as possible.”

Skip to content