Frijns takes first pole in thrilling Qualifying

Robin Frijns has secured his first ever Formula E pole position after he decimated the field in both group qualifying and Superpole.

Frijns set a 1.07.899 to be three-tenths clear of Sergio Sette Camara in the Dragon.

The qualifying session started with breaking news, with the announcement that all Mercedes powered cars would not be allowed to qualify following Edoardo Mortara’s FP3 crash, meaning the Mercedes and Venturis will start from the very back of the grid  if they are allowed to race.

Groups three and four shocked as all with both NIOs and Dragons making it through to Superpole with Frijns and Jaguar’s Sam Bird.

Sam Bird managed to post the third fastest time. The NIOs will line up fourth and fifth with Oliver Turvey in fourth and Tom Blomqvist in fifth, while Nico Mueller had front row potential, but made a mistake and will start sixth.

Jean-Eric Vergne just missed out on Superpole and will start seventh ahead of Sebastien Buemi, Alexander Lynn qualified 9th, but will start 12th due to a penalty he has to serve from last night’s race. Antonio Felix Da Costa completes the top ten.

Nick Cassidy couldn’t capitalise in Group four and will start eleventh ahead of Max Guenther. Oliver Rowland was the fastest driver in Group 1 and he was rewarded with 13th which is where he originally qualified 13th. Alexander Sims will start 14th and Lucas Di Grassi 15th.

Pascal Wehrlein will start 16th as top Porsche, ahead of Jake Dennis. However Mitch Evans and Rene Rast were too slow to get over the line in Group 1 and their 200kw laps left them last overall of those two set a time.

At the rear of the field are the two Mercedes and Venturi’s who weren’t allowed to set a time and Andre Lotterer was last classified because he couldn’t take part due to crash damage sustained in FP3.

Skip to content