Vandoorne secures pole after Rowland bins it

Stoffel Vandoorne has secured his third Formula E pole after Oliver Rowland, who was fastest in group qualifying, hit the wall at the final corner and limped over the line.

The Brit will line up third on the grid behind Porsche’s Andre Lotterer, who has never finished off the podium in Rome.

Lucas Di Grassi will start in fourth ahead of Jean Eric Vergne, while Max Gunther, who qualified sixth, will drop five positions on the grid for an infringement carried over from Diriyah.

Robin Frijns was the fastest in Group one and ended seventh ahead of championship leader Nyck De Vries, but will be promoted because of Guenther’s penalty. Pascal Wehrlein was ninth and Sebastien Buemi, despite going out in Group four, could only manage tenth.

The two Jaguars will line up together on row six, with Diriyah winner Sam Bird ahead of teammate Mitch Evans. Alex Lynn will start 13th ahead of Norman Nato, with Lynn’s teammate Alexander Sims completing the top 15.

The Dragons will be side-by-side after Sergio Sette Camara qualified 16th and Nico Mueller 17th. Reigning Champion Antonio Felix da Costa brushed the wall on his lap and could only manage 18th ahead of Tom Blomqvist and Jake Dennis who was the last of those who set a time at full power.

Rene Rast spun on his full power lap, while Nick Cassidy, who was quick in the opening sectors pulled to a halt after clipping the wall and potentially doing substantial damage to the rear of the car. Edoardo Mortara had a small issue at the start of Group one, and by the time the team had fixed it, he could not set a lap time.

Oliver Turvey never made it out on track, the car still in pieces from the accident in FP1 this morning, which the Brit has received six penalty points for.

Skip to content