Formula E announced on Thursday that the current season seven calendar will end with four double-headers in Mexico, New York, London and Berlin, bumping up the number of rounds to 15 across eight different venues.

The Santiago E-Prix, which was originally scheduled to be the season opener before being delayed due to COVID-19 related travel restrictions, has now been removed from the season seven calendar altogether, as has the Marrakesh E-Prix for similar reasons. Santiago, Seoul and Sanya are to be rescheduled into the season eight calendar, with the intention being to allow fans on site during the 2021/22 season when it is safe to do so.

Following the two Valencia E-Prix on the 24th and 25th of April, and the Monaco E-Prix on May 8th, Formula E will visit a new city in the form of Puebla in Mexico on the 19th and 20th of June. Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, which previously hosted the Mexico City E-Prix, is currently unavailable due to the venue being used to house a temporary field hospital.

The New York City E-Prix in Red Hook, Brooklyn, will return to the calendar for first time since 2019 with two races on the 10th and 11th of July.

The 24th and 25th of July sees the return of the London E-Prix for the first time since 2016, when the final event was held in Battersea Park after a compromise between Formula E and local residents in order to avoid a judicial review which had the potential to prematurely curtail Formula E’s second season. The Excel exhibition centre in the east end’s docklands will now debut as the host of the event with a unique indoor/outdoor layout, after the race was cancelled last year due to the venue being turned into an emergency NHS Nightingale hospital.

For the second season in a row, the season will end at Tempelhof Airport in Berlin, this time with two rounds on the 14th and 15th of August, compared to last year’s six races in nine days. It is yet to be confirmed which layout at Tempelhof will be utilised for the final races of season seven.

“It’s a massive achievement by all to release the full calendar for this season.” Explained Alberto Longo, Co-Founder and Chief Championship Officer of Formula E. “The calendar includes the most races we’ve held in one season and shows our continued commitment to create a momentum-building schedule that fans and audiences across the world will follow.

“Four double-header events in Puebla, New York City, London and Berlin are going to set the scene perfectly to crown Formula E’s first official FIA World Champion.”

The track layouts at Puebla and London are currently subject to homologation by the FIA.