Vandoorne secures pole for the Valencian E-Prix

Stoffel Vandoorne secures pole position for the first race in Valencia to secure three pole positions in five races for Mercedes in this season. 

The Belgian qualified into Super Pole from group one and in Super Pole the Mercedes driver drove a spectacular lap to set a to claim his second pole position this season.

Reigning Champion Antonio Felix Da Costa will start alongside Vandoorne after setting a 1.26.522 for Ds Techeetah. Nyck De Vries qualified in third, but will take a five-place grid penalty and will start in eighth.

Gunther qualified in fourth for BMW, but will start third after De Vries Penalty. Alex Lynn qualified fifth for Mahindra but will start from fourth with Sébastien Buemi qualifying in sixth but will start fifth.

Andre Lotterer qualified in seventh place for Porsche. The German driver just missed out on Super Pole for Porsche despite qualifying in the preferred Group 4 session. He will start sixth after De Vries’ penalty

Norman Nato is the lead Venturi driver after he qualified in eighth, but will start from seventh. Oliver Rowland will start in ninth for Nissan e.Dams with Pascal Wehrlein rounding out the top ten.

Nick Cassidy was on fire through the first two sectors on his qualifying lap, but he made an error in the final sector and will start in 11th. Alexander Sims will start the race from 12th for Mahindra.

Jean-Eric Vergne qualified in 13th for Ds Techeetah. The double Formula E champion will be disappointed he wasn’t able to replicate Da Costa’s lap  that put him into Super Pole.

Jake Dennis was 14th for BMW with Rene Rast being the first of the Audi cars in 15th.

Robin Frijns will start in 16th for the Envision Virgin Racing squad with Edoardo Mortara in 17th.

Mitch Evans will start 18th for Jaguar alongside Sergio Sette Camara in 19th. Tom Blomqvist is in 20th for NIO 333.

Championship leader Sam Bird starts 21st with Lucas Di Grassi in 22nd. Nico Muller will start 2rd and Oliver Turvey start 24th.


Skip to content