Jake Dennis starts on pole in a drying qualifying in Valencia

Jake Dennis has taken his maiden pole position and BMW i Andretti eighth pole position in Formula E in a wet to dry session which has seen the championship leaders start from back of the grid as they did their lap times on a wet track. 

The Brit takes four points from qualifying after he qualified as the fastest driver driver in the group stage. Dennis’ lap time in Super pole was a 1.28.548 which was eight tenths clear of Andre Lotterer.

Lotterer qualified second, but takes a three place grid drop after his collision with Edoardo Mortara in yesterday’s race. Alex Lynn qualified third, but will start second for Mahindra. The Brit set a lap time of a 1.29.711.

Tom Blomqvist secured his best qualifying result for NIO 333. The Brit will start fourth ahead of his teammate Oliver Turvey. Norman Nato starts sixth for Venturi.

All of the Super Pole drivers came from the final group of qualifying. But the track conditions continued to dry in Super Pole which meant that everyone went quicker on the following lap.

Jean-Eric Vergne just missed out on Super Pole as a result of the track become drier. The double Formula E champion set his time in group 2 of a 1.33.198. Oliver Rowland qualified eighth for Nissan e.dams. The Brit outqualified his teammate Sébastien Buemi who starts alongside him in ninth.

Sergio Sette Camara will start tenth for Dragon, as the American team looks to score more points later today. Alexander Sims will start 11th for Mahindra.

Reigning Champion Antonio Felix Da Costa will start for 12th alongside Pascal Wehrlein who ended group one fastest and will start 13th.

Rene Rast will start 14th for Audi, with Edoardo Mortara qualifying in 15th for Venturi.

Mitch Evans qualified 16th for Jaguar, but will take a three-place grid drop. Evans was also in group and finished second in the session. Robin Frijns will start 17th and was third quickest in group 1.

Nick Cassidy looked set to go into Super Pole as the Kiwi was fastest in Sector 1 and 2, but he ran wide in at Turn 12 and ended up 18th fastest, but his laptime was deleted for running wide. He will start in 23rd.

Stoffel Vandoorne will start 19th for Mercedes. Vandoorne was fourth fastest in group 1. Championship leader Nyck De Vries will start 20th after he was fifth fastest from group 1.

Sam Bird will start 21st for Jaguar. The Brit was the slowest driver in sector 1. Nico Muller was on course for a good lap, but he accidently turned the power down from 250kW to 200kW in the final sector and he starts 22nd.

Lucas Di Grassi didn’t hook his lap together and qualified 23rd. Maximillian Gunther had his lap time deleted and will start last.



Skip to content