Rowland tops disrupted opening practice in Puebla

Nissan e.Dams driver Oliver Rowland has topped the first practice session for this afternoon’s Puebla E-Prix, setting a time of 1:24.314, whilst the track dried from overnight rain.

The session was heavily disrupted when Alexander Sims broke down on the exit of turn 11, causing the session to be red flagged for over 20 minutes, with race control taking the decision to elongate the session from 45 minutes to 60.

Pascal Wehrlein ended free practice in second place, just a tenth of second shy of the top time, whilst reigning champion Antonio Felix da Costa was 0.420 behind in third. Edoardo Mortara was fourth with Jake Dennis fifth, six tenths away from Rowland.

Mitch Evans was sixth ahead of Stoffel Vandoorne, Andre Lotterer and Norman Nato, with current championship leader Robin Frijns completing the top ten.

Sergio Sette Camara was 11th, and the last man to set a time within a second of Rowland, with NIO 333’s Tom Blomqvist 12th, 1.394 seconds off the pace. Lucas Di Grassi finished 13th ahead of Alex Lynn and Nyck De Vries, with Sebastien Buemi 16th, Jean Eric Vergne 17th and Maximilian Guenther in 18th.

Rene Rast would finish 19th after repairs had to be made to his car following a brush with the wall at Turn 7, where others also struggled.

Joel Eriksson, standing in this weekend for Nico Muller, ended his debut Formula E session in 20th, 2.291 off the top time, with Sam Bird in 21st, followed by Oliver Turvey and Nick Cassidy; the last of those to set representative lap times in 22nd and 23rd respectively.

Skip to content