Formula E have added Cape Town and Vancouver for the 2021-2022 FIA Formula E World Championship. The all-electric series will also race in Seoul for the first time. 

The South Korean capital was set to join the calendar in season six, but the COVID-19 pandemic halted Seoul from taking part in the championship. Seoul will host the season finale double header on August 13th & 14th.

Vancouver has had interest in hosting a Formula E race dating back to season two, but the emergence of a race in Montreal in Canada overshadowed their attempt to race in the series. However, Montreal has been off the calendar since June 2016 which allowed Vancouver to reignite their ambitions to host an E-Prix. Vancouver will host the tenth round on July 2nd.

South Africa’s legislative capital Cape Town has also earned a place on next season’s schedule, with the race currently scheduled for 26 February.

Monaco will also become an annual event as it retains its slot on 30 April. Formula E and the Monaco Historique meetings have alternated on a biennial basis, but the all-electric championship wanted to race in the principality every year. It is believed that the success of this seasons race played a big part of Monaco becoming an annual event.

Meanwhile, China will play host to an FE race for the first time since the 2019 Sanya E-Prix on 19 March, although the venue for this is yet to be confirmed.

The FIA also announced that, with immediate effect, the race director can now stop a Formula E race that began under the safety car and resume it with a standing start. This follows several wet races in the early part of the season where the championship was forced to begin races behind the safety car, leading to little action at the restart.

The governing body also noted that the maximum power for each car will be increased from 200kW to 220kW in the race mode, as stipulated under the Gen2 roadmap.