Alex Lynn has taken his first pole for Mahindra in a drying qualifying that saw the championship contenders being hampered by the changeable conditions. 

Lynn, who came out or the third qualifying group, set a 1.23.245 and will start alongside fellow Brit Jake Dennis, with Season 1 London E-Prix winner Sebastien Buemi in third.

The session started with a wet track and progressively got dryer as the qualifying session went on, which means the championship protagonists will start at the back of the grid.

Championship leader Sam Bird will start 18th on the grid, with Eldorado Mortara starting in 16th and Antonio Felix Da Costa starting 17th.

Back at the front, Sergio Sette Camara starts a season-best fourth, with Andre Lotterer, who topped group qualifying starting in fifth. Norman Nato was last of those who went out in Superpole but will line up in sixth.

Lucas Di Grassi was the fastest of those from Group 2, but narrowly missed out on a spot in Superpole and will start seventh. Alexander Sims will start eighth ahead of Nyck De Vries. De Vries is under investigation for speeding in the pit lane.

Joel Eriksson had a career-best qualifying result, as the Swede completed the top ten.

Mitch Evans will start 11th ahead of Pascal Wehrlein, Rene Rast will line up 13th ahead of Stoffel Vandoorne in 14th. Tom Blomqvist will start 15th ahead of Edoardo Mortara, who was fastest in Group 1, Antonio Felix da Costa, Sam Bird, and Oliver Turvey. Nick Cassidy completes the top 20.

Oliver Rowland will line up in his worst grid spot of the season in 21st, with Robin Frijns and Jean-Eric Vergne the last of those who set a lap time.

Max Guenther did not complete a lap after his warm-up was taken away from him after crashing on his 250kw lap and causing a red flag.

The BMW driver lost control of his car going into Turn 16 and slammed into the wall breaking his front-left suspension.