Alex Lynn has taken his maiden Formula E victory following a 20 second time penalty for on the road winner Lucas Di Grassi after the Brazilian had overtaken multiple cars under the safety car by going through pitlane to gain the lead from seventh.

Di Grassi was initially given a drive through penalty for the incident, which his team failed to inform him of with hope of an appeal, and on the final lap Di Grassi was displayed on timing screens as being black flagged for not respecting the stewards’ decision.

In the confusion immediately after the race, Di Grassi’s disqualification was rescinded and the Audi driver was instead given a post-race time penalty, equivalent to a drive-through penalty, that dropped him down to eighth place. It was decided by the Stewards that Di Grassi had not come to a complete stop in front of the Audi pit box, so his trip through the pitlane did not count as a bona-fide pitstop.

The first safety car was caused by Sebastien Buemi and Rene Rast who came together thrice in as many corners at the switchback hairpins of turns 10,11 and 12, destroying Rast’s suspension and putting the Audi out on the spot. Buemi was handed a 10 second stop/go penalty for the incident.

The second safety car would be to recover the DS Techeetah car of reigning champion Antonio Felix da Costa after the Portuguese driver was fed into the wall by Andre Lotterer on the start/finish straight. Lotterer would serve a drive through penalty for the incident.

Mercedes had been looking set for a 1-2 lockout at the front, as polesitter Stoffel Vandoorne had led from the start until Di Grassi controversially took the lead under the second safety car via his trip to the pitlane. However, at the restart the Mercedes driver was crashed into by fellow front row starter Oliver Rowland, who made an over ambitious dive at the turn 10 hairpin, costing both drivers several positions. Rowland was handed a ten second penalty, and neither driver would go on to score points.

Lynn then took advantage of the opportunity before him as De Vries emerged in second place and ran out of Attack Mode, and the Mahindra driver overtook the sole remaining Mercedes to run in second place, just before Di Grassi’s penalty was announced, handing him the win.

The battle for third between Evans, Robin Frijns, Pascal Wehrlein and Max Guenther raged on, but the Jaguar driver prevailed despite both Evans and Frijns losing a wheel cover each as they passed each other using Attack Mode.

Nick Cassidy climbed up to 7th position from 18th on the grid, whilst Dragon’s Sergio Sette Camara and BMWi Andretti’s Jake Dennis rounded out the points scorers, with Dennis having to serve a penalty late in the race for a technical issue regarding the mapping of his car’s throttle pedal.

Lynn first victory in Formula E puts him into championship contention, just 17 points behind new points leader Nyck De Vries. Mathematically, the top 18 drivers in the standings can still take the championship in Berlin, whilst in the team’s standings the top 8 squads can all still become the first FIA Formula E world champions.