Vandoorne secures his second pole of 2021 in London

Stoffel Vandoorne beat home favourites Oliver Rowland and Alex Lynn to claim his second pole of the season for this afternoon’s London E-Prix.

The Mercedes EQ driver set the second fastest time in group qualifying, but Alex Lynn,who was the fastest driver in group qualifying, was unable to beat the time set by the Belgian, and will start third behind Vandoorne and Rowland.

Nyck De Vries was able to make it to Superpole after topping group 1, and ended as fourth fastest in superpole. Mitch Evans will start fifth after making a small mistake on his qualifying lap at Turn 1, just ahead of Max Guenther in sixth.

Pascal Wehrlein was the first to miss out on Superpole and will start seventh ahead of Robin Frijns, with Sergio Sette Camara and Lucas Di Grassi completing the top ten.

Sebastien Buemi will start 11th ahead of Rene Rast, with Norman Nato lining up 13th, ahead of Tom Blomqvist and Joel Eriksson.

Andre Lotterer could only manage 16th ahead of yesterday’s race winner Jake Dennis, with Nick Cassidy just behind and Alexander Sims and Edoardo Mortara completed the top 20.

Championship leader Sam Bird was once again a victim of the qualifying format and will strat 21st, ahead of the two DS Techeetahs of Antonio Felix da Costa and Jean-Eric Vergne, with Oliver Turvey struggling again, and will line up at the back of the grid.

Skip to content