Vandoorne is on pole as Evans puts one hand on the title

Stoffel Vandoorne has made up for a poor qualifying perfromnace yesterday by securing pole position for the final race of the season in Berlin. 

Oliver Rowland will start second, but Mitch Evans’ will start in third and has put himself as the firm title favourite as his main rivals are starting 9th and below. Evans was the fastest man in Group one and made it through into Superpole in sixth.

Alexander Sims will start fourth for Mahindra, and Tom Blomqvist had a stellar run to put his NIO 333 in fifth place. Norman Nato was third fastest in group qualifying but had technical fault that would not allow his car to start up in Superpole which means he was not able to set a laptime and will start in sixth.

Formula E witnessed a dramatic qualifying session in Berlin, as the Gtoup one runners thought they all had a shot at Super Pole when Group two were unable to beat there times. However, drivers from Group three and four were able to outqualify the drivers in group one to make it into Superpole.

Evans made it into Superpole from Group one by the skin of his teeth which gave him a chace to battle for pole psotion and get a big adavantage of his title rivals. Stoffel Vandoorne finished the group qualifying session fastest and got one of the four points avaialble for qualifying.

Andre Lotterer will start in seventh ahead of Sebastein Buemi in eigith. Evans’ main title rival Jake Dennis will start in ninth place for BMW on their final race in Formula E.

Pascal Wehrein will start tenth, but he is under investigation for a return to garage procedure infringment. Edorado Mortara who has a chance of winning the title will start in 11th for Venturi.

Sergio Sette Camara will start in 12th ahead of the current championship leader Nyck De Vries. Alex Lynn who collided with De Vries in yesterday’s race will start in 14th.

Regining Champion Antonio Felix Da Costa has a lot of work to do to defend his title starting from 15th. He will start ahead of his teammate Jean-Eric Vergne. Lucas Di Grassi had the fastest first sector of anybody, but he will start in 17th.

Maxilimian Gunther will start 18th for BMW ahead of Rene Rast for Audi who will start in 20th. Robin Frijns championship hopes are all but over as he starts 21st. Sam Bird will start 22nd for Jaguar.

Joel Eriksson will start 23rd and Nick Cassidy will start in 24th.

Skip to content