Antonio Felix da Costa has taken pole position for the final race of the season after an intense final duel between him and Edoardo Mortara.

Although the gap at the line between Da Costa and Mortara was two tenths of a second, through the mini sectors thousands separated the two during the first two sectors.

The championship, which will be decided this afternoon, has given Stoffel Vandoorne a huge chance to win the title as he starts fourth, while Mitch Evans, who needs to win, will start from 13th.

Jake Dennis will line up third ahead of champion elect Vandoorne, Robin Frijns will start in fifth after being the quickest of the quarter finalists that didnt progress, ahead of Lucas Di Grassi in sixth.

Dan Ticktum made his and NIO’s first appearance in the duels and will start from seventh. Jean Eric Vergne made a mistake on his quater final lap and will therefore start eighth.

Max Guenther will line up ninth ahead of Sergio Sette Camara, with Oliver Askew in 11th and Nyck De Vries in 12th. Evans lines up 13th ahead of his compatriot Nick Cassidy on the 7th row in 14th place.

Pascal Wehrlein will line up in 15th ahead of Norman Nato, with Andre Lotterer and yesterdays pole sitter Oliver Rowland will start from 17th and 18th rsepectively.

Sebastien Buemi will start 19th, with Oliver Turvey in 20th. Sacha Fenestraz will make his Formula E debut from 21st, while Alexander Sims in his final Formula E race will strat from the back after taking a penalty for new components.