Edoardo Mortara has topped the final practice session of the season, setting a 1:21.019, almost three tenths quicker than Antonio Felix da Costa in second.

Jake Dennis was exactly a third of a second behind Mortara, in third place, with title hopeful Mitch Evans in fourth and Lucas Di Grassi completing the top five.

Championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne finished in sixth ahead of Robin Frijns, with Andre Lotterer in eighth, Nick Cassidy in ninth and Oliver Turvey in tenth.

Pascal Wehrlein ended the session 11th ahead of Norman Nato and Jean Eric Vergne. Outgoing champion Nyck de Vries was 14th, with Dan Ticktum in 15th.

Oliver Askew stopped out on circuit midway through the session, bringing out the Full Course Yellow, but had set a time quick enough to stay 16th, ahead of Sergio Sette Camara, Oliver Rowland, Sebastien Buemi and Alexander Sims.

Max Guenther ended 21st ahead of Formula E debutant Sacha Fenestraz, who will race in place of Antonio Giovinazzi, who has damaged his hand following multiple incidents in yesterday’s race.