Jake Dennis has picked up his superb season-eight form as he dominated the opening round of the ABB Formula E Championship in Mexico.

Dennis took the lead after Lucas Di Grassi who started the race in pole position made a mistake at Turn 1 on lap 12 of 41.

The Andretti driver survived a safety car restart to build a seven-and-a-half-second advantage to secure victory from Pascal Wehrlein.

Lucas Di Grassi finished third for Mahindra after starting on pole. The Brazilian driver who was racing for Mahindra for the first time overused energy at the start of the race, and had to save energy in the closing stages of the race.

The season three champion did a great job to hold off Jake Hughes, Andre Lotterer and Sebastien Buemi.

The race got off the stop-start nature as there were two safety cars in the opening 12 laps of the race.

On lap 1, Robin Frijns crashed into the back of Norman Nato at the chicane. It seemed that Frijns missed judged the closing speeds and drove straight into the back of Nato. However, Frijns has broken his wrist during the impact.

Then on lap 6, Sam Bird had a driveshaft failure, which put to bed a miserable Mexican E-Prix for the Jaguar driver and the safety car was out again.

Then on lap 18, the safety car was out for a third and final time with Edoardo Mortara spinning out in his Maserati at Turn 1 and hitting the barrier.

Dennis managed the restart well on lap 20 and raced away from the chasing pack. Di Grassi was running n second, and with energy being a concern, Wehrelin passed him on lap 29 to secure second place.

5 laps were added to the original 36-lap race due to the safety car periods, but Jake Hughes could not find a way past Di Grassi.

However, the McLaren driver would then lose out to Andre Lotterer in the second Andretti car with two laps to go. Lotterer would hold onto fourth place with Hughes finishing in fifth on his debut.

Sebastien Buemi has had a great start to life at Envision Racing with a sixth-place finish. Antonio Felix Da Costa ended his outing for Porsche with points by finishing in seventh.

Mitch Evans missed one of his Attack Modes and came home in eighth for Jaguar, while Nick Cassidy was ninth for Envision Racing.

Reigning Champion Stoffel Vandoorne took the final point in tenth, which was a difficult day for the Ds Penske squad, with Jean-Eric Vergne in twelfth.

Maserati also had a tough day with Maximilian Gunther only finishing in 11th and Mortara crashed out of the race.