Sacha Fenestraz secured his first pole position in Formula E after a dominant display in Cape Town. 

The Nissan driver was the only driver to break the one-minute seven-second barrier. The French driver set a 1:07.843 which was four-tenths quicker than Maximilian Gunther could manage in his Maserati.

Gunther did go faster than his semi-final lap by one-tenth of a second posting a 1:08.270 in the final. The Maserati driver was also one-tenth faster than Fenestraz in the Semi Final stage, but the Nissan driver found half a second in the final to secure pole position.

Nick Cassidy will start third for Envision Racing after losing out to Fenestraz in the semi-finals. Mitch Evans will start fourth for Jaguar.

Evans was two-tenths up on Gunther in the semi-final but lost half a second in the middle sector, which allowed Gunther to progress to the final.

Jean-Eric Vergne will start fifth for DS Penske. The double World Champion lost out to Fenestraz in the quarter-finals. Championship leader Pascal Wehrlein will start sixth. The German driver lost out to Cassidy in the quarter-finals.

Sebastien Buemi will start seventh in the second Envision. He will line up alongside Rene Rast in the McLaren.

Sam Bird qualified ninth for Jaguar, but he and Edoardo Mortara crashed in the group stage of qualifying which has put both driers at risk of missing the E-Prix.

Mortara was the first driver to crash at Turn 9, but no yellow flags were thrown for the incident.

Gunther, Mortara’s teammate, just missed his strike car, but Sam Bird around eight seconds later had the exact same moment as Mortara at Turn 9 and crashed into the wall, and then ploughing into Mortara’s car.

Both cars took serious damage and the teams will struggle to repair the cars in time for the race later today.

Bird also has a five-place grid penalty to take after his collision with Mitch Evans in India meaning he will start 14th.

If Bird and Mortara miss the E-Prix we could have a 16 ars field as both Mahindra and Abt Cupra will miss the E-Prix due to concerns with Mahindra’s package around the rear suspension.

The teams have decided to pull out of the E-Prix due to safety concerns.

Jake Dennis who is second in the championship could only manage 12th fastest for Andretti, whilst reigning champion Stoffel Vandoorne could only manage to qualify 14th.