Mitch Evans fought off Nick Cassidy to triumph in the inaugural Sao Paulo E-Prix after an enthralling race.

Cassidy crossed the line in the lead at the end of the first 31 laps, but due to earlier safety cars there were four added laps and Evans hit the front with four laps to go.

Evans was able to see off Cassidy in those four laps to secure victory.

The start of the race saw Vandoorne make a great start from pole position. Da Costa held onto second after an attack from Evans.

There was lots of contact at Turn 3, as Norman Nato hit Edoardo Mortara and Maximilian Guenther went wide. All three drivers had damage to their front wings. Mortara was the only driver to retire from the race.

Lotterer also retired from the race on lap one after having contact at Turn 4.

On lap two Sebastien Buemi and Guenther got together battling for ninth at Turn 4, and Buemi was forced to the back of the grid after damaging his front wing.

Vandoorne was the first driver to go into attack mode on lap five from the lead of the race. The reigning champion came out in second place.

Lap six saw Sam Bird and Jean-Eric Vergne go into attack mode, which started the chain of Attack mode activations around the field.

Vandoorne re-took the lead of the race on lap seven after passing Da Costa at Turn 1. Da Costa dropped to fourth place on lap seven as Evans and Cassidy also passed the season six champion.

Sacha Fenetraz brought out the safety car after he came to a stop on the track.

The race restarted on lap 11 and the positions remained the same until Da Costa overtook Evans on lap 13, and Cassidy also snuck past Evans.

Cassidy hit the front on lap 14, but went straight into Attack Mode and fell back to second. Jake Dennis and Pascal Wehrlein came together at Turn 1 after Dennis was hit at turn one by the Nio 333 of Dan Ticktum, and Dennis had to retire from the race taking another hit to his championship hopes.

The safety car was deployed on lap 16 to recover Dennis’ car.  At the restart, Cassidy and Vandoorne both took Attack Mode for the second time.

Cassidy dropped from the lead to third with Vandoorne dropping to fifth. Da Costa and Evans had not deployed either Attack Mode with 11 laps remaining.

Da Costa and Evans used their first attack mode with 10 laps to go. Evans was able to get back past Cassidy and Da Costa was in third.

With six laps to go Da Costa locked up at Turn 1 and dropped to seventh place. Cassidy overtook Evans and pulled a second gap over Evans. Sam Bird overtook Vandoorne – who was struggling for energy at the end of the race – for third.

Evans took the lead of the race at the start of four added laps. The Jaguar driver passed Cassidy at Turn 1.

Sam Bird was all over the back of Cassidy with 2% more energy than the Envision racing driver.

Cassidy tried to pass Evans on the final lap, and sent a move to Turn 10., but he was unable to do it and Evans took the victory with Cassidy in second and Bird in third place.

Da Costa finished fourth place after his lock-up at Turn 1. Jean-Eric Vergne finished in fifth place with pole-sitter Stoffel Vandoorne finishing in sixth.

Pascal Wehrlein came home in seventh after starting 18th. Jake Hughes came home in eight with Rene Rast in ninth and Sebastien Buemi came home in tenth after being last on lap 2.