Sacha Fenestraz secured his second pole position of the season for the Nissan Nismo team in Monaco.

The French driver set a 1.29.131 in the final to beat Jake Hughes in the Nissan-powered McLaren.

Fenestraz did set a 1.28.772 in his semi-final win over Norman Nato which is the fastest lap in Formula E history around the streets of Monte Carlo.

However, Fenestraz is now under investigation for a technical infraction

Hughes made an error at the Nouvelle Chicane which ruined his chances of securing pole position.

Nato will start third in the second Nissan after posting a 1.29.236 and confirming Nissan’s dominance around the principality.

Maximilian Guenther will line up fourth for Maserati after setting the slowest time in the Semi-Finals of a 1.29.450.

Dan Ticktum will start fifth after he set the fastest time in the quarter-finals of the drivers who did not proceed. The Brit set a 1.29.326 to put his NIO 333 in the top five.

Mitch Evans is the leading driver of the championship challenges in sixth. The Kiwi lost out to Nato in the quarter-finals.

Edoardo Mortara will line up in seventh after losing out to Hughes in the quarter-finals.

Sergio Sette Camara will start eighth on the grid. The Nio 333 driver did make it through to the semi-finals, but he was disqualified from the duels after he missed his time period to leave the pits.

Championship leader Pascal Wehrlein failed to make the duels as he could only manage 7th fastest in Group A. He will start in 11th.

Sam Bird had a session to forget as he was only tenth fastest in the first group and the Jaguar driver will start the race in 15th.

Sebastien Buemi also had a disappointing qualifying session in the Jaguar-powered Envsion Racing car. The Swiss driver will start 16th behind Bird.

Championship challenger, Nick Cassidy missed out on the duels after finishing fifth in the second group session. The Kiwi was held up by Guenther in the final sector after the Maserati driver locked up in the final sector on his final lap.

The Envision Racing driver will start the race in tenth place.

Jake Dennis also missed out on the duels after qualifying sixth in the second group session. The Andretti driver will line up alongside championship leader Wehrlein. Dennis will start the race in the 12th.

Porsche driver Antonio Felix Da Costa hit the wall during the second qualifying group and could only manage 10th fastest. He will start in 19th.

Both Ds Penske drivers failed to make the duels after they finished sixth and eighth in group a, but both Jean-Eric Vergne and Stoffel Vandoorne had all of their lap times deleted due to a technical infringement which means they will start 21st and 22nd for this afternoon’s race.