Pascal Wehrlein has put his championship challenge back on track after winning the Jakarta E-Prix, as the German driver moves to within two points of Nick Cassidy. 

Wehrlein started the race in third place and jumped past Jake Dennis at the start of the race who started on the dirty side of the track.

The Porsche driver then made it past pole-sitter Maximilian Gunther on lap four when Wehrlein passed on the inside of Turn 1.

Wehrlein then had to see off an attack from Gunther and then Dennis throughout the race. The Porsche driver got rid of his Attack modes very early, as he took his first on lap five and then his second on lap nine.

Dennis came home in second after he fought his way back to his starting position after dropping two places at the start.

The Andretti driver used his Attack Modes slightly later than Wehrlein on lap 16. After Dennis fought his way back to second, he then had a lunge at Wehrlein for the lead of the race on lap 24.

Dennis dived down the inside of Turn 1, but was unable to sneak past the Porsche driver.

Maximilian Gunther finished third after starting the race on pole. The Maserati driver was able to keep up with Wehrelin and Dennis throughout the race but just didn’t quite have the pace to repass the Porsche-powered pair in front.

Ds Penske’s Stoffel Vandoonre came home in fourth place after he was able to leapfrog a couple of cars at the start to move from sixth to fourth place.

Jean-Eric Vergne came home in fifth for Ds Penske which capped off a positive day for the Ds powertrain runners after a difficult few races, as Edoardo Mortara also finished sixth in the Ds powered Maserati.

Nick Cassidy finished in seventh for Envision Racing and was the lead Jaguar-powered car. Jaguar had been dominant in recent races but struggled in the Indonesian heat.

The Envision driver came from 11th on the grid to finish in seventh, but the championship leader could have finished with zero points after he lunged Jean-Eric Vergne at Turn 1 and just saved his car from spinning and going into the wall.

He lost a place to Mortara when he took his final Attack Mode, but despite having six minutes of extra power, he was unable to pass Mortara to reclaim sixth place.

Antonio Felix Da Costa finished in eighth for Porsche, and Robin Frijns came home in an impressive ninth for ABT who have struggled for pace all season.

Jake Hughes made up 10 places to get the final point for McLaren.

It was a day to forget for Jaguar as Sam Bird came together with Mitch Evans while both drivers were in the points, ensuring both failed to score points as they lose ground in the championship race.