Reigning World Champion Jake Dennis has won the opening Diriyah E-Prix after a dominant victory in Saudi Arabia. 

The Porsche-powered Andretti driver started the race in third place but struggled to get off the line initially, however, an attack by Sergio Sette Camara on Mitch Evans at Turn 1 allowed Dennis to recover and pass Sette Camara to move into third on the opening lap.

Jean-Eric Vergne, who started the race in pole position, took his first Attack Mode on lap three, with Mitch Evans who was second taking his Attack Mode on lap four.

At this point, Dennis used the pace of his Porsche powertrain to pull a gap between Evans and Vergne. The Brit was able to pass Evans and moved into second place.

Dennis pulled the overcut in the second Attack Mode phase, as Vergne took his second Attack Mode on lap seven and fell behind Evans.

However, Evans didn’t have the pace to keep up with Dennis which held up Vergne who had the extra power with the use of Attack Mode.

That allowed Dennis to take his final Attack Mode and keep first place. From then on, Dennis was untouchable. Neither Evans nor Vergne could keep up with the reigning champion.

Vergne came home in second place for DS Penske. The Frenchmen looked like he had second place sown up, but the double Formula E champion made an error which allowed Evans to launch an attack on him.

The Kiwi tried to get past on the final lap at Turn 18, but locked up and fell to fifth place which promoted Nick Cassidy to third place and Sam Bird to fourth.

Cassidy was the last driver to take his Attack Mode which helped him move from seventh to third place. Bird had a great start and moved from ninth to sixth. The McLaren driver used his Attack Modes to attack the Jaguars and ended up finishing the race in fourth.

Evans had to settle for fifth after his last lap move ahead of Norman Nato in the second Andretti who came home in sixth.

Maximilian Gunther was seventh for Maserati ahead of the Mexico E-Prix winner Pascal Wehrelin who finished in eighth. Due to the dusty nature of the circuit, there was little movement between the drivers during the race, which stopped Gunther and Wehrlein moving further up the grid.

Despite struggling with energy, Sergio Sette Camara finished in ninth place and secured two crucial points for ERT. Sette Camara started the race in fourth, but the efficiency issues of the ERT hampered him during the race as he fell down the order.

Robin Frijns picked up the final point for Envision Racing after passing Jake Hughes on the final lap to finish tenth.

Hughes came home in 11th ahead of Sebastien Buemi in the second Envision Racing car.

Oliver Rowland was 13th for Nissan ahead of Stoffel Vandoorne who had another difficult day in the DS Penske.

Edoardo Mortara finished ahead of Antonio Felix Da Costa in 15th. Nyck De Vries came from last to finish in 17th for Mahindra.

Nico Muller and Lucas Di Grassi were 18th and 19th for ABT Cupra. Jehan Daruvala was 20th for Maserati and Dan Ticktum finished a minute behind Dennis, as the Brit slowed down to save energy in the hope he could charge through the field if there was a safety car.

Sacha Fenestraz was the only retirement from the race after he suffered a suspension issue on the first lap of the race.