Site icon Formula E Zone

Evans ends FP3 Fastest in Diriyah

Mitch Evans, Jaguar TCS Racing, Jaguar I-TYPE 6

Mitch Evans has started round three strongly in Diriyah, as the Jaguar Racing driver tops the timesheets in final practice. 

The Kiwi set a 1:10.154 on a track that has finally rubbered in, as yesterday’s event saw the drivers be three seconds off the pace from last season.

However, Evans’ time was slower than what was achieved 12 months ago, which shows just how dusty the track has been. Evans was the fastest driver in FP3 last year and the Kiwi set a 1.09.092

Yesterday’s pole sitter Jean-Eric Vergne was second fastest setting a 1:10.362 for DS Penske. Maximilian Gunther was third quickest in the DS-powered Maserati. The German driver set a 1:10.493.

Oliver Rowland was fourth quickest for Nissan setting a 1:10.571. The Brit was ahead of yesterday’s race winner Jake Dennis who could only set a 1:10.588.

Stoffel Vandoorne had a stronger session to finish in sixth. The DS Penske driver set a 1:10.638.

Nick Cassidy was seventh quickest in the second Jaguar. He set a 1:10.642. Sacha Fenestraz was eighth quickest with Sebastien Buemi and Robin Frijns rounding out the top ten for Envision Racing.

Jake Hughes was 11th quickest in the McLaren with Norman Nato in the Andretti in 12th place.

Jehan Daruvala finished in 13th, which was his best session result to date. Porsche struggled in practice for pace, as championship leader Pascal Wehrlein was only 14th quickest. His teammate Antonio Felix Da Costa was 22nd and last in the final free practice session.

Edoardo Mortara and Nyck De Vries were 15th and 16th fastest for Mahindra Racing. Dan Ticktum was 17th for ERT. The Brit was in front of his teammate Sergio Sette Camara.

Lucas Di Grassi was 19th ahead of Sam Bird in the second McLaren. Nico Muller was 21st and Da Costa in 22nd.

Exit mobile version