Nick Cassidy has won Saturday’s Diriyah E-Prix as the Jaguar driver takes the lead in the drivers’ championship. 

The Kiwi started the race in third place but used the pace of his Jaguar and Attack Modes to his advantage to claim victory.

At the start of the race, Robin Frijns leapfrogged Oliver Rowland. The Dutchmen dived down the inside of Rowland who got a shaky start off the lights.

On lap four of 36, Rowland took his first Attack Mode which caused Frijns to take his on lap five.

Cassidy went for the overcut and took his first Attack Mode on lap seven but fell back to third.

However, Cassidy showed great pace during the following laps, that when Frijns and Rowland took their second Attack Mode, he had built up a gap to take his final Attack Mode on Lap 13 which saw him come out in the lead of the race.

Cassidy and Frijns drove flat-out in the middle section of the race and pulled a six-second gap to Rowland. However, they were overconsuming and had to slow down which allowed Rowland, Hughes, and Vandoorne all to catch up.

From then on, Cassidy controlled the pace of the race, and with the race being a lap shorter than yesterday’s event, there weren’t enough opportunities to overtake via lifting and coasting.

Therefore, Cassidy was able to keep hold of the lead and secure victory and the championship lead. Frijns came home in second with Rowland finishing in third for Nissan.

Jake Hughes managed to make his way past Stoffel Vandoorne during the second Attack Mode phase to secure a fourth-place finish for McLaren.

Vandoorne finished in fifth for DS Penske ahead of the second Nissan of Sacha Fenestraz who came home in sixth.

Pascal Wehrlein came home in seventh after starting in tenth. He made a great move on Jean-Eric Vergne at Turn 1, as he dived down the inside with the help of Attack Mode to secure himself six championship points.

Vergne came home in eighth place in the second DS Penske. Maximilian Gunther finished in ninth for Marserti and reigning Champion Jake Dennis took the two points from the race, one for the fastest lap, and the other for finishing in tenth.

However, Dennis was later handed a five-second penalty for overtaking under yellow flags which saw him drop to 12th place. He loses those two points and it promotes Evans up to 10th place.

The lack of energy management thwarted Dennis’ and Mitch Evans’ race as they couldn’t come through the field despite having lots of useable energy in hand. Evans came home right behind Dennis in 11th.

Edoardo Mortara came home in 12th ahead of Nico Muller for ABT Cupra. Antonio Felix Da Costa went from last to 14th.

Nyck De Vries came home in 15th ahead of Norman Nato in 16th. Sergio Sette Camara finished in 17th.

Lucas Di Grassi came home in 18th and was the last of the classified runners.

Dan Ticktum, Jehan Daruvala, and Sam Bird all retired from the race. Daruvala had a brake failure, Bird hit the wall, and Ticktum boxed with a lap to go.