Nick Cassidy won a hectic strategic race in Berlin to secure his second victory of the season. 

The Jaguar driver was 21st after 21 racing laps, the Kiwi dropped back and saved energy and after the second safety car window he used that extra energy to carve his way through the field to secure victory.

Cassidy made his final move to take the lead with five laps to go and bolted to the chequered flag. He also picked up the extra point for the fastest lap.

Jean-Eric Vergne was able to keep his DS Penske in the leading pack throughout the whole race and came home in second place.

Oliver Rowland came from 15th on the grid to secure the final place on the podium. The Brit struggled to get past Vergne, which stopped him from breaking away and winning the race.

Mitch Evans came from tenth place to finish in fourth place. After the second safety car, Evans still had to take his final Attack Mode. However, he only dropped to second when he took it, but had to save energy at the end and dropped to fourth.

Championship leader Pascal Wehrlein came home in fifth place. Wehrlein was trying his hardest to pass Rowland for the final spot on the podium, but in his attempts to do so he got squeezed at Turn 7 and dropped behind Evans.

Stoffel Vandoorne dropped to the back of the grid during the race, but recovered to seventh for DS Penske.

Despite starting on pole, Edoardo Mortara finished the race in eighth place for Mahindra picking up four more points to the three he and the team gained from securing pole.

Sacha Fenestraz came home in ninth in the second Nissan, and Taylor Barnard secured his first points-scoring finish after pitting mid-way through the race.

Kelvin Van Der Linde finished 11th for ABT Cupra. Jordan King was 12th in the second Mahindra.

Paul Aron was 13th on his debut race for Envision Racing. Dan Ticktum came together with Lucas Di Grassi during the race and finished in 14th.

Jake Hughes was 15th. He pitted after he came together with Gunther which brought out the second safety car.

Sergio Sette Camara was 16th, and Jehan Daruvala was 17th. The Indian driver was on course to score points, but he damaged his front-wing.

Norman Nato was 17th after he had a left-front puncture during the race.

Jake Dennis retired with a puncture, and Gunther, Di Grass, and Joel Eriksson were the other drivers to fail to finish.

The race had two safety cars. The first was caused by Joel Eriksson in the Envision Racing car. His right-rear suspension failed and the Sweedish driver stopped at Turn 5.

The second was caused by Maximilian Gunther after he hit Sacha Fenestraz, which broke his suspension and he drove into the wall at Turn 9.