Lucas di Grassi

Lucas di Grassi is the first ever Formula E race winner had a long way to obtain the Drivers’ Championship in season three.

In Season one, the Brazilian came second in the standings, with one win to his name. Di Grassi did lose a race win after he was disqualified from the Mexican ePrix and the win was inherited by Jerome d’Ambrosio following the Brazilian’s disqualification.

He came back stronger in Season two, winning three races and scoring several podium finishes. The Brazilian led the standings at various occasions, and was a clear favourite on the race to the Drivers’ Championship. But the infamous London ePrix crash would turn the tables, and leave the title decider up to who scored the fastest lap. In the end, it was Sebastien Buemi who claimed victory.

But the third time, is the lucky one, as the saying goes. Di Grassi scored just two wins in Season three but did take advantage of Buemi’s disqualifications and absences, and after winning the first race of the Montreal ePrix, was able to lead the standings for the first time that season.

He claimed his long-awaited championship win in Canadian soil, giving the ABT Schaeffler team a title before Audi took over.

Apart from his Formula E duties, di Grassi has been a massive supporter of driverless and sustainable racing, having become Roborace’s CEO.



Skip to content