Mitch Evans will start Saturday’s race of the Misano E-Prix double-header from pole position, after beating Jean-Eric Vergne in the final.

The Jaguar driver was not considered a favourite heading into the session, as Vergne had been the clear favourite after he topped both free practice sessions.

In the final, the Jaguar driver defeated Vergne by 0.160 secs after setting a 1:17.068.

Pascal Wehrlein will start in third ahead of Jake Hughes. Hughes looked set to secure the pole after securing the fastest lap time of the day in the quarter-finals, but the McLaren driver made an error in his semi-final lap against Evans which cost him a chance to fight for pole.

Nico Muller will start in fifth for ABT. The German driver will feel hard done by as he was quicker than both Vergne and Wehrlein. Muller set a 1:17.245, but Hughes set the fastest quarter-final time of 1:16.997 to knock Muller out of qualifying.

Oliver Rowland will start in sixth place for Nissan. The Brit was knocked out by Vergne in the first quarter-final.

Sam Bird will start in seventh in the second McLaren. The Brit was knocked out by Evans.

Maximilian Gunther will start in eighth place for Maserati. The German driver hit the sausage kerb on his quarter-final run, which slowed him down as he lost to Vergne.

Nick Cassidy was able to participate in qualifying after his Jaguar machine was repaired following a high-speed crash during FP2 earlier in the day, but the Kiwi just missed out on progressing from the second qualifying group by 0.005s, and will start ninth.

Robin Frijns will start in tenth for Envision Racing after finishing in fifth place in Group A. He will line up alongside his teammate Sebastien Buemi who qualified 11th.

Sacha Fenestraz was 12th for Nissan ahead of Norman Nato in the Andretti. Antonio Felix Da Costa could only manage 14th for Porsche.

Edoardo Mortara was 15th for Mahindra ahead of Lucas Di Grassi and Dan Ticktum. Stoffel Vandoorne had a disappointing session as he qualified 18th, whilst Vergne is in 2nd.

Reigning champion Jake Dennis could only finish 10th in Group B  after hitting the wall on the exit of the Turn 8/9 chicane, with the Andretti driver also losing his first three lap times due to running tyre pressures below the minimum. The Brit will start in 19th.

Jehan Daruvala will start 20th, with Nyck De Vries in 21st and Sergio Sette Camara in 22nd.