Pascal Wehrlein wins a dramatic Misano EPrix which saw Oliver Rowland run out of energy on the last lap whilst leading. 

Rowland had two percent less energy than Wehrlein, but the Nissan driver was lapping at the same speed as the Porsche driver in the closing stages of the race.

The Brit took the lead from Wehrlein on lap 21 and gambled that he had enough energy to race flat out until the chequered flag.

However, on the last lap, Rowland began to slow down after he exited Turn 5 which allowed Wehrlein to simply drive past him and take victory.

The race changed from a peloton-style race to a normal-style race when the safety car came out on lap seven after Robin Frijns was sandwiched at Turn 7.

Frijns stopped in the gravel and had to be recovered. The safety car was only out for one lap, which meant it wasn’t out for enough time for the race to have added laps.

Therefore, the teams saved a lot of energy during Lap 8 which they then used to race fairly flat out for the remainder of the race.

Nissan misjudged how much energy was left for Rowland from the recalculations from the safety car, which caused him to lose the victory.

There was a great battle for second and third spots. Dennis was able to see off Nico Muller in the ABT, but the Swiss driver didn’t claim the final step on the podium.

Muller had to lift off just before the line, which allowed Nick Cassidy to knick third place on the line.

Muller had to settle for fourth place. Jake Hughes finished fifth on the road but was given a five-second time penalty for gaining an advantage for going off the track at Turn 8.  Hughes was demoted to eighth place.

Sacha Fenestraz came home in fifth for Nissan ahead of Sergio Sette Camara in sixth for ERT.

Jean-Eric Vergne was seventh for DS Penske with Hughes in eighth. Maximilian Gunther secured ninth place for Maserati with Jehan Daruvala securing his first point of the season.

Sam Bird was in the wars, he was sent to the back when Edoardo Mortara hit him at Turn 12. Bird then spun after colliding with Dan Ticktum, but still recovered to 11th place.

Lucas Di Grassi received a five-second penalty which demoted him to 12th place for causing a collision.

Mortara was 13th with Dan Ticktum in 14th. Nyck De Vries was 15th, Norman Nato was 16th, and Antonio Felix Da Costa who broke his front wing finished in 17th.

Mitch Evans failed to finish after he stopped on track at Turn 9. Vandoorne didn’t finish after picking up damage at the back of his DS Penske.

Rowland didn’t make the line after running out of energy, with Frijns crashing out which caused the safety car.